Adoption Is A Lot Like Standing In A Fire Ant Pile

Some really great thoughts here!

Heath Pressley

With my life story, I get a lot of questions on adoption. I love being able to talk to people about adoption. I have found that lots of people are really interested in adoption. I think they find adoption stories compelling and fascinating.

The most consistent question that I get is, “What is adoption really like?” That is a great question!

It seems that there are two kinds of adoption narratives floating around out there in our culture. On one side of the spectrum the first kind of narrative is the idyllic “rescued child”, “happily ever after” story. I think these stories are told by people who have been positively impacted by adoption. They want as many people as possible to also have this amazing experience. On the other side of the spectrum is the second kind of narrative. It is the “adoption ruined my life” story. These stories are…

View original post 1,699 more words

Leave a Reply

