Voices from the Past (and the lies they whisper)

whisperFrom my journal – August 30, 2014

Two weeks ago, I began meeting with a Christian counselor.  Part of what we have uncovered is that I hold many false beliefs about myself.  Supposedly, once you identify false beliefs, you can begin to replace them with Truth.  I say “supposedly” because although it makes sense that we can “renew our minds” and although I have heard of research to that affect – I remain skeptical.  In completing my first week of homework, I realized where many of these beliefs come from.  I really DO believe them and that is troubling.  I seem to feel that while certain things apply to others, they somehow don’t apply to me.  I suppose that this means I am somehow discounting what Christ has done and I don’t want to do that 😦

The voices that I hear from my childhood are primarily my dad and grandmother’s.  They kind of echo each other.

  •  Love is based upon performance.  If I am not perfect, I am unworthy of love.
  •  Love is based upon appearance.  If I am overweight, I am unlovable.
  •  God is waiting for me to mess up so that He can punish meprobably by taking someone that I love away.
  •  I will never be good enough to be lovable.

I had not realized that I also hold beliefs about myself based upon my mother’s actions while I was growing up.  I do not hear specific things that she said; I feel what her actions said.

  •  I am not enough. (No matter how much I begged and pleaded, she wouldn’t change her behavior.)
  •  I am not a priority. (She still communicates this to me today sometimes.)

I’m sure there are more that I am forgetting because my memory is not what it once was, but together they combine to make me feel worthless, unlovable, unattractive, unimportant and completely overwhelmed by all that I must “do” to earn love and acceptance.

In my head, I know that God’s Word is true.  He says I am fearfully and wonderfully made.  He sees so much worth in me that He gave His Son’s life for me.  My heart says that was a really poor trade…

My heart’s desire is to fall so completely in love with Jesus that He is able to wash away the voices and replace them with His Voice.  I want to be able to think on truth and apply it accurately to myself, not just to others.

siggy

Leave a Reply

