It is National Foster Care Month

May has almost come to a close.  This is the month where we bring awareness to the plight of children in foster care.  And it has become very personal to our family.

We have been licensed just over a year and have had 13 children through our home.  They have ranged in age from 3.5 months to just shy of 13 years old.  They have stayed as little as 18 hours to almost a year (and counting.)  Their stories are varied, as have been their outcomes.  Some I am still in contact with – others I will likely never see or hear from again.

Truly this is a life that God has called us to.  It is not something that we can do on our own power.  I wish that more Christians could step outside of themselves and ask God what He has called them to do – and then do it, even if it is scary and outside of their comfort zone.  The rewards are amazing and even when you are in the trenches and having a rough time, there is a peace in knowing that you are right where God has called you to be.

 

6 thoughts on “It is National Foster Care Month

  1. “there is a peace in knowing that you are right where God has called you to be”

    as a foster care young adult leaving the system, I want to say thank-you and I wish I had parents like you instead I lived in residential homes, shelters and hospitals I never thought I was meant for a parent. I remember telling my foster mom (she is still my mommy) that I ruin families and I wasn’t meant for a mom or dad. it broke their hearts and my psych mental disorder proved me right and wrong.

    I am glad and there needs to be more like you. I’m hooked on your blog and am following you. ❤ GOD BLESS!

    • Domenia,

      Your post left me in tears. Sweetheart, you DO deserve a family of your own. I pray that you’re able to reach out to your Heavenly Father and let Him hold you close and heal your wounds. (((HUGS)))

      • I am attending a christian college and I believe that this is where GOD wants me so not only am I learning I am healing with the support of others.

        I believe God will help my wounds to heal and voids to be filled. Hopefully it will all work out.

        thanks for the love and encouragement. because all though I am older I am still young and still hurting.

      • Grief/trauma are funny things. You can think you’ve worked through it and then something happens in your life and brings it all to the forefront again. Awesome that you are at a Christian college! I suspect that down the road, the Lord will be able to bring beauty from ashes and use your experiences to touch the lives of others! Keep your eyes on Him. He loves you and will never leave you or forsake you!

      • “Grief/trauma are funny things. You can think you’ve worked through it and then something happens in your life and brings it all to the forefront again”

        Amen to that. I swear sometimes I am over the pain but sometimes I am triggered and it feels like its a new scar.

        I am glad too that I am attending a christian college I was trying to find the right fit for college this is school no.3 and I believe it is where I am meant to be.

        you seem to be a kind and amazing person. I truly love and respect your blog.

Leave a Reply

