Six girls have come through our doors, one remains…

We have been foster parents for almost 4 months.  We have had six girls with us, ranging in age from 7 months to 12 years.  Our current placement is a baby girl, now 10 months old.  We’ve had her almost 3 months.  She is precious and such an easy baby – a real joy.  We have no idea how long she will be with us, but it could be some time.  When she came to us, I was told she was developmentally delayed – couldn’t roll over and didn’t lift her head when placed on her belly.  Today she is crawling all over the place, pulling up on anything she can get a hold of and is the happiest baby I’ve ever seen.  A totally different child.  No longer “developmentally delayed”.

We had two sisters, ages 7 and 9.  They were with us for six days and are now with family.  It was a difficult situation because they could not be left alone with the animals or the baby.  Constant line-of-sight supervision is exhausting and I was worn out when they left.  However, I was blessed to be put in touch with them recently and I got to visit with them today.  The older one and I bonded during their stay with us and you should have seen how big her eyes got when she saw me at the door!  She ran and gave me a huge hug!  (I had received a letter from her about three weeks ago, but she didn’t know I was in touch with her family member or coming over.)  I know that God has me in her life for a reason and I hope that I can maintain a mentor type relationship with her in the future.

We had a 7 month old baby girl for respite care for 6 days (was supposed to be 8 days originally.)  Having two babies just six weeks apart in age was quite a challenge!  I don’t know how moms of multiples do it!!  She was not an easy baby and although I loved on her and cared for her as I would any other child, I was so relieved when their foster mom informed me they were returning home from vacation two days early!  Alyssa still refers to her as “Little Loud Screacher”  LOL!

We’ve not had any placements in the past couple of weeks – probably a good thing.  We are moving about 20 minutes north to an area that is more rural.  We will be on acreage!  I will get to have chickens again.  And a big garden.  I’m looking forward to it!  But I’m terrified, as well.  I hate packing.  I hate moving.  I hate unpacking.  And I’m somewhat nervous about being in the country again after the California debacle.  My sweetie keeps reminding me that I have a well established social network here and am very involved in church.  I won’t be isolated on the side of a mountain.  But judging by the nightmares I’ve been having of being back in California, attempting to finish packing but opening closet after closet and finding items I’ve missed… yeah.  I’m a little freaked out about it.

The extra space will be nice though and I think that once we’re settled, another little girl or two would be nice to add to our family 🙂

Leave a Reply

