Super neat gift idea!

I came up with this one night when I was tossing and turning from insomnia – apparently there can be benefits of sleepless nights? LOL

I made this for my mom’s Christmas gift. So MOM – if you are reading, do not go any further!!!

If you’re not Mom, scroll down…

I picked up some glass stones at Dollar Tree – intending to make a pendant like I posted about previously. It occurred to me that I could easily put a photograph beneath the stone, but I didn’t know if Mom would want to wear just Alyssa around her neck, when she has four grandkids. The stones are a bit big to hang 4 of them from a chain.

Then I remembered that our local paint-your-own pottery place has plates that you can paint. I thought about how neat it would be to stick those stones with each grandchild’s photo on a plate that she could display. I pondered what to paint – considered snowmen, but thought that was too seasonal – and decided on flowers.

The next day, I headed off to the pottery studio. They were out of plates! Darn it! However, they had large square tiles for just $4 – and that included paint and firing. BINGO. I commenced painting.

To do the thin lettering, I dipped a pencil in paint and used it to write/paint the names. Alyssa is an only child, so her leaf goes to the left and the three siblings leaves all go to the right. (There is a method to my madness!) I paid for the tile and was told it would be ready in one week.

I texted my brother and asked him to please send me recent pictures of his kidlets for me to use.  I then forwarded the pictures to my e-mail account, copied the photos into Paint Shop Pro, cropped into circles and resized to 1.34″ in diameter. I could have just resized the entire photo and cut it into a circle, but I am awful at cutting freehand shapes.

I pulled out four of the flat round glass stones (cabachons, if you are picky). I acquired a good sized bag of these at Dollar Tree for $1. After searching for my bottle of Modge Podge, I remembered that I had a bottle of Puzzle Saver in my office and decided to use that to laminate (or decoupage if you will) the photos onto the backs of the stones. I painted the back of each stone with the Puzzle Saver and then centered the stone in the photo and stuck it down firmly, squeezing out any air bubbles that were trapped. I then trimmed the photos down even more so that they fit the backsides of the stones exactly (the stones are not perfectly round.) One piece of advice here is to choose the stones that are most clear and have the flattest backs. Once they dried for a few minutes, I went over the backs of the photos with more Puzzle Saver to make them water resistant and I left them photo side up to dry overnight.


Today, I picked up the finished tile! Isn’t it pretty??

I came home and found a tube of E6000 epoxy adhesive that I already had on hand and used it to attach the stones. Any good adhesive will work, but I suspect that hot glue might not adhere as well. If you haven’t yet discovered E6000 – now is a good time! It is wonderful for sticking glass pieces together to give new purpose to old items. It is also handy for gluing the arm back on plastic drawers in your refrigerator (ask me how I know!) You can get it in the craft section at Wal-Mart for around $3 a tube.

I love how it turned out!!! And my total cost was only $5! The possibilities with this technique are endless!! I’d love to see what you create!

Leave a Reply

