Homeschooling Mothers are not Perfect Saints (just for the record!)

Alyssa has been in day camp all week at the YMCA – from 8:30am – 6pm.  I am listening to all of my friends chant “School starts on Monday!” and I completely understand why they can hardly contain themselves with anticipation. I’ll admit that it has been very nice to have the days to myself, but I miss her so much!  The more I hear moms counting down the days until the beginning of the public school year, the sadder it makes my heart.

I find teaching tedious and headache inducing on most days.  But I feel firmly that it is MY responsibility and do not allow myself to even consider other options.  This is the right option for us and the very best option for Alyssa.  And I have to put my selfishness aside and press on towards the goal.  Because the rewards are great for those who persevere!

I think this is why I get so irritated when I hear women say “I don’t have the patience to homeschool.”  Who does?  Do all of us homeschooling mamas just have a natural inclination to love teaching?  Are we perfect at scheduling and are we blessed with more tolerance and patience when it comes to dealing with our offspring?  Maybe some of us are, but I’ll be the first to raise my hand and admit that I am horrible at sticking to any type of schedule/routine and I am certainly short on patience.  Not to mention that I have a daughter who is just as hard headed as I am!  We butt heads on a daily basis.  But for myself, I feel that putting her in traditional school would be betraying what I know in my heart is the path we are supposed to be on and quite frankly – would amount to me copping out and letting my selfish nature have complete reign.

So come Monday, we’ll be settling back into another school year – at home.

3 thoughts on “Homeschooling Mothers are not Perfect Saints (just for the record!)

  1. I give you all the kudos in the world for sticking to your convictions that homeschooling is what is best for you and Alyssa!!!!
    I contemplated homeschooling and for Matt (Jeff's son) I think it would be the best thing possible, for Lexie, I don't think I could home school Lexie, like Alyssa she is so headstrong and about as social as they come, Lexie has soooo much self confidence it is scary, and I don't want her to loose that, and she is a social butterfly!! Amanda I think for her in some ways it would be good and in some ways not so good. Amanda talks before she thinks and that caused many a missed recess last year!!!
    The only reason I can't wait for school to start is that I can't afford daycare for all three of them, and if I don't work we don't eat, which sucks because I would rather stay home!!
    So anyway, I just wanted to say that I applaude you and I respect what you are doing!!
    Take care,

  2. I feel the same way. Its not easy but its the best thing. I started homeschooling because my social butterfly daughter, was having a hard time focusing at school. She wanted to talk and play. She did horrible at school. But then when I brought her home, she does great and she learns better in the relaxed atmosphere. My older daughter, they were holding her back, she just wanted to do her work and move on and she had to wait for the rest of the class to catch up. And besides, its what God wants parents to do, and it is needed in this society that we live in.
    Blessings, Niki

Leave a Reply

