We must have a thing for New Mexico…

I wish I had my cord to upload pictures to share.

We are staying the night in Albuquerque, NM, after spending last night in Grants, NM.  If you want to map those towns, you’ll find they are a mere 130 miles or so apart.  We, um, have a thing for trading posts, teepees, tacky souvenier shops, and the Continental Divide.  What more can I say?

Have you ever heard of Indian Tacos (or Navajo Tacos)?  We tried them today and while we loved eating them at the time, the thought of having leftovers makes us feel ill.  They are a very tasty indian frybread topped with beef, beans, cheese, lettuce, tomatoes, and red and green chili sauce.  I think I should have had my sauces on the side.  They were quite spicy (and I’m used to spicy foods!)  I had to have sour cream to cool the heat.  Here’s a picture of one that I found online –

I picked up a jar of Prickly Pear Cactus Jelly for Chautona.  Apparently she loves the stuff – I’ve not tasted it yet.  But I did get us a jar as well, along with some Saguaro Cactus Honey.   I plan to do a desert unit study (DESERT – like HOT, dry, with cacti – not DESSERT…) at some point and will use these, along with Prickly Pear Cactus Candy.  Yes, I am bad.  And who says the desert and dessert can’t mix?

We hope to make it to Amarillo, TX tomorrow.  That will require driving a bit further than we made it today. 

One thought on “We must have a thing for New Mexico…

Leave a Reply

