Happy Thanksgiving!

First of all, Happy Thanksgiving to all.  I know I have many things to thank the Lord for this year.

An update on me –

I saw the doctor last Monday (14th) and he ordered an ultrasound for Thursday.  I was to call in this Monday for the results, but when I did, I was told I needed to come in (this caused concern because I had been assured three times that a phone call would be adequate.)

I had my appointment yesterday and the ultrasound showed what we anticipated.  The doctor believes that the remnant of the fibroid that he left behind is what is causing my pain.  He has given me two options – continue taking pain medicine to deal with the pain (I take a percocet every other night or so), or have another surgery to remove the rest of the fibroid.  He believes my recovery would be easier because I wouldn't have all of the inflammation and infection to deal with this go round.  The concern is that the fibroid will grow again, so the decision is really whether to do the surgery now or later.  Although I am leaning towards getting it over with and recovering during the off-season, Earl is stressed out and thinks we should delay it as long as possible.  I don't feel strongly about going ahead with it now, so I'll just continue to pray about it and see how DH feels about it after the holiday.

We downsized our Thanksgiving Dinner.  Instead of cooking a whole turkey, like I always do, I'm just cooking a turkey breast and a couple of sides.  I bought rolls.  (I always make homemade rolls and tuck little slips of paper in them with scriptures about thankfulness inside – but alas, I don't have the energy or motivation this year.)  Earl wants to eat late, so I haven't even started anything yet.  It's almost 11am and all I have to do is get the macaroni boiling for the mac & cheese, assemble the sweet potato casserole, prepare the turkey breast and get everything cooking.  I probably only have an hour of prep time, so I don't need to start for a while.  Instead, I am working on LAUNDRY!

I have not mentioned this yet, but I am going to have Alyssa assessed for
Sensory Integration Dysfunction.  She has some really weird things that she does (and has done for a long time) and I have a list of about 25 or 30 concerns that point me to this being an issue with her.  I'm going to bring it up at her 4 year well child visit in December and I'm assuming they'll refer her out to an occupational therapist at that time.  I'm almost hoping for a diagnosis because I don't know how to deal with getting her past these issues.

Anyway, I'm off to shower and switch the laundry over and think about boiling that macaroni!  Have a Blessed Thanksgiving

4 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. Thank you for leaving such kind comments on my blog. I would love to hear more about your life as an innkeeper and how the Lord directs you and your family. As you know, we feel the Lord is leading us up to the mountains near Yosemite- or at least close. I hope you don’t mind if I add you to my friend’s list.

    Blessings,
    ~Kathy

  2. Hi Kathy!

    I wasn’t sure where “in the mountains” was πŸ™‚ I think near Yosemite/Oakhurst would be a much better atmosphere than Mendocino County. We are like fish out of water here. But it is an opportunity to shine a light into the darkness, for sure.

    Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving! πŸ™‚

  3. Oh my. You certainly have a lot going on. I pray that God’s hand of comfort and peace will cover you.

    We have dealt with the sensory stuff here as well. The Lord led us to the Neurodevelopmental route for it. I haven’t blogged much about it. Feel free to e-mail me any time you like. We see Linda Kane at http://www.hope-future.org
    Praising Him,
    Kim

  4. I’m pretty sure my kids and I have SID. I know we have ADD (the kids are ADHD). My daughter also has dyslexia and dysgraphia. We don’t use medications but, once you’re aware of these issues, there are things you can do to deal with them. Homeschooling is very helpful for dealing with various disorders. For instance, my daughter’s dyslexia & dysgraphia rarely occur now due to us working one-on-one for the past 6 years. She also reads at a college level. Had she been in a regular school, she would have been placed in special ed.

    Mrs. Happy Housewife

Leave a Reply

